Inspiration comes from many things

January 9, 2010 at 11:53 am 5 comments

One of the great things about doing challenges is that you are exposed to so many different things – most of which would never cross your path during the normal day to day activities.  The colors of this card were inspired by a piece by Mindy Wilson shown {here}.  I love the blue and chocolate color palette, its one of my favorite color combos.  I did not want to simply recreate something similiar to her piece, yet instead be inspired to use the colors to make something of my own.

I remembered this patterned paper from SEI’s Winter Song pack, which contains many holiday patterns along with several other patterns that can be used year round.  I love  this pretty blue and chocolate pattern.

I double matted the frame and double mounted the sentiment.  The flourishy things were cut using my Slice machine from the Basics 3 design card.  Chocolate pearls were also added.  The frame was created using nestabilities rectangle dies.

The sentiment was computer generated (I guess the term now  is “digi stamp!!) and was written by David Viscott.  It was printed out on solid blue paper which was also found in the SEI Winter song pack.   The chocolate paper is SU. 

If you want this sentiment, it is a Word document and I have posted it {here}.

Thanks for stopping by  – look for inspiration everywhere!!

Entry filed under: Challenges, Valentine-Love. Tags: , , .

Limited supplies – and a free digi “stamp” Clean and simple…….collage?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beth Greco  |  January 10, 2010 at 4:56 am

    Oh Nancy, this is delicious! I really like this card a lot!! Such a classy colour combination and the flourish is great too.

    Reply
  • 2. Carol Southern  |  January 10, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Ohh, this is classy. Beautiful colours and design and I like the verse very much.

    Reply
  • 3. deesdesigns  |  January 11, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Lovely! What great use of this paper. I used this cardstock line for my Christmas cards – so often I forget about the “other” side of the paper. I hope you don’t mind but I’d love to borrow this idea for a couple of Valentine cards.

    Reply
  • 4. Cindy Haffner  |  January 12, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    BEAUTIFUL Nancy!

    Reply
  • 5. Joan B  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    hmm…quite stunning! this color combo is fresh and beautiful and the sentiment is paired perfectly with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


