A clean and simple inspiration, and cutting your stamps?

January 2, 2010 at 1:55 pm 8 comments

How do you like this – two days into the new year and two posts!!!   I’m an a roll!

This card was inspired by a piece of jewelry at the etsy shop Design Spriti Studio, which uses recycled glass to create jewelry.

This square card  started with Papertrey’s soft stone cardstock.  I stamped  the images with versamark and embossed in black.  The flowers and sentiment are from Flourishes, the dragonfly is from Meer Images.    I really like how the black works against the soft stone.

The ovals were cut with sizzix dies with a black satin ribbon placed behind it.

Here is a look at the inspiration piece  – I liked the soft, clean and simple look of the pendant and tried to keep that look in this card.

Now……about cutting your stamps apart.  The floral image shown on the card is from Flourishes Birds and Vine set, which contains a large background stamp.  But…..there are times when I want just pieces of the image and just inking those parts never seemed to work for me, so I cut the image apart!  I did it in such a way that it can be put back together again for a large background, so nothing was lost.  I’ve cut apart several of my stamps and have never regretted it.  Of course, if you are worried about doing this you can always buy two of the stamps and keep one intact!

I hope things are going well for you today – thanks so much for stopping by!

Entry filed under: Challenges, Clean and Simple, Flourishes Designs. Tags: .

Happy New Year!!! Whimsical inspiration

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  January 2, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    simply lovely, Nancy!

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy Grant  |  January 2, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    I love your card! And the ribbon placement is inspiring… gonna have to borrow your style!

    🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Joan Jeffery  |  January 3, 2010 at 12:12 am

    What a great card – wonderful job on the challenge.

    Reply
  • 4. Kristie  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Beautiful card! I love the elegance of the black & white.

    Reply
  • 5. Sylvia Johnson  |  January 3, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Love your card.

    Reply
  • 6. Lois  |  January 3, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Very pretty, Nancy. I’ve been tempted to cut that background apart myself, but I guess I’m too chicken.

    Reply
  • 7. Sharon  |  January 3, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Nice and chic! Congrads on your making the CAS favorites list for the week with this card!

    Reply
  • 8. Rae  |  October 8, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Lovely job, Nancy! Love what you did from your inspiration piece.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


