End of the year – goodbye 2009, hello 2010

December 30, 2009 at 12:09 pm 4 comments

This is my last card for 2009!!  I wanted to get one last card in before the end of the year.

I love the image, from Inkadinkado, but I’m not 100% happy with how I stamped it.  I think next time I’ll use a grey or black ink instead of burnt umber used here.  I colored with prisma pencils and odorless mineral spirits, so I’ll try copics next time.

The background paper is Basic Grey periphery, the pink is some textured cardstock I had on hand – don’t know who it is from.    The card base is Papertrey’s Soft Stone cardstock , and I think it may be my newest favorite neutral!  I love the soft look  of  it and think it will go so well when you don’t want a white or a cream.

Here is a close up  – the photo corners are just the regular tan colored photocorners – I just colored them with a grey copic marker to get the color I wanted.  I also placed a small pewter rhinestone in each corner and popped up the butterfly.

So, now that 2009 is winding down I took some time to reflect on this past year.  I did not blog nearly as much as I wanted to, and although I tried a few new techniques, i know I could have pushed myself more in terms of crafting.

I had some significant ups and downs this year, and  came out  of it with some “lessons learned” that I will carry with me going forward.     I look forward to 2010 and what the future holds!!

While I am not much for “resolutions”, I do want to set some crafting goals for myself – here a just a few..

-create more – take the time to really push myself creativly by trying more techniques and  different styles

-use my supplies!! No more hoarding supplies just for that “perfect” occasion, and give away/sell those items that I know I will never use.

-submit items for publication – I did this when I first started stamping and for some reason stopped. 

-relax and enjoy life!

What about you?  Do you have some papercrafting goals for 2010?  I’d love to hear them!

Finally, I want to thank you for stopping by and visiting my blog.   I’ve come into contact with so many different people through the magic of the internet and am grateful for the friendships and inspiration this technology has provided.  I wish all of you a very happy new year!

Entry filed under: Challenges. Tags: , .

Gift Card Holders Happy New Year!!!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon  |  December 30, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    You have done a very nice job with the Prisma pencils, that is not a medium that I have mastered at all. Maybe that shoul be one of my goals for the new year!

    Reply
  • 2. Lois  |  December 31, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Good luck with your “resolutions” for 2010. I make and break resolutions every year!!! Beautiful card, by the way.

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy Grant  |  December 31, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Oh so lovely. Amazing details!
    🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Carol Southern  |  January 1, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    I think your card is very beautiful. I’m not one for resolutions either, but I do think about how I can improve some things in my life. A little more stamping time would be great for sure.
    Have a wonderful and exciting 2010.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


