A copic sunset – what color is yours?

October 3, 2009 at 12:30 am 2 comments

WELCOME TO WORLD CARD MAKING DAY!!

I hope you are enjoying today as much as I am – going from blog to blog,  seeing all the great cards, and participating in challenges!  What a nice way to spend a day or just a few hours and I hope you are able to relax and have some fun.

copic sunset

I started out with an idea in mind, and sometimes the finished product ends up differently  – such is the case with this card!  My thought was to airbrush using copics and glossy paper to achieve a beautiful sunset.    I chose orange and yellows (from the Flourishes Copic Collections of Daffodil and Tiger Lily) for a golden sunset.    The  Fields collection of copics was used for the green portion.    For a different look you can choose pinks and purples for the sunset.  I just masked off the lower portion of the card using eclipse masking tape and airbrushed – starting with the lightest of yellow and working my way through the darker colors.  Copics don’t dry as fast on glossy paper as they do on regular cardstock, so give it a few minutes to dry or you will have fingerprint smudges on your card!

I was thinking the look would be somewhat more realistic but it turned out more abstract so instead of a larger tree image, I used one of the smaller images from Forest of Trees.  The sentiment is from Summer Blossoms – both were stamped with Palette ink – burnt umber.

Thanks for stopping by!

Entry filed under: Flourishes Designs.

A masculine touch quick and easy!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon  |  October 4, 2009 at 9:53 am

    I was instantly drawn to the colors and design, how very contemporary. Will you do this in a 3×5 foot size for my sitting room?? LOL The images you have used really inhance the air brushed background.

    Reply
  • 2. Carol Southern  |  October 4, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    I love this one, the colours and design. I could see this one as a Sympathy card as well, it has a calming look to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


