Release week – day one!

March 10, 2009 at 11:30 pm 8 comments

sweet-pea-card-square1Ahhh – the sweet fragrance of the sweet pea!!  It’s probably my favorite in terms of fragrance, even better than a rose in my mind.  Marcella Hawley captures the delicate petals and beauty of this flower in this new set called, what else, Sweet Pea.    There’s this image, a bouquet, as well as a single bloom which was used for the background, and other images.

I stamped the image in palette noir and colored with blue, green and pink markers.  For an image this detailed, I color the leaves first, then the buds, then the blooms – it easier for me to distinquish the different images when I do it this way!  The background was stamped in versamark.

Once I finished coloring, I embossed the entire image in clear embossing powder to give it a tiled look and added ice blue rhinestones.  I tried some ribbon, but none seemed to work with the layout.

Now, for those of you who only thought that sweet peas were in shades of pink, red and purple, here is my color inspiration..

azureussweetpea5

If you want a chance to win this set, go to the Flourishes Newsletter and follow the very simple directions!   And don’t forget to click the links of the Flourishes Design team for their creations with this pretty set!

nancy-signature

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sneak peek and release party tonight! Sneek peak day 3 – release party tonight!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cindy Lawrence  |  March 11, 2009 at 4:47 am

    Nancy, this is drop-dead GORGEOUS!!! Your coloring caused me to drool all over my keyboard and short-circuit it…then I had to buy a new one…what a mess! 😉 Beautifully done!

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy SCS Twinshappy  |  March 11, 2009 at 7:30 am

    Fantastic! Oh I love the real picture you added as well! These are colored perfectly, gorgeous job Nancy.

    Reply
  • 3. Julie Koerber  |  March 11, 2009 at 8:12 am

    WOWW doesn’t even begin to cover it! I love your inspiration piece and how you really brought out all those colors in your card. I might have to case this! It’s too pretty for words

    Reply
  • 4. Christine Okken  |  March 11, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Nancy, you’ve done such a gorgeous job coloring these sweet peas, such beautiful color blending and contrast. I really gasped when I opened it up! Lovely work!

    Reply
  • 5. Pat Adam  |  March 11, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I really love this image and how each one of the design team did it in a different way yet all are just lovely. I’m sure I’ll have to buy this set. Beautiful Nancy. Pat

    Reply
  • 6. Leslie Miller  |  March 11, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Oh, Nancy, I love your coloring on these! Thanks so much for sharing the photo. Wow! Such a vibrant true blue. I can’t wait to color more!

    Reply
  • 7. Karen Wallace  |  March 12, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Stunning colors, I love this set and this card is just so pretty!!

    Reply
  • 8. Cheryl Penner  |  March 13, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Absolutely beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


