Christmas Cookies – a holiday tradition

December 15, 2008 at 12:02 pm 5 comments

3-cookie-bags

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We all have our own holiday traditions and mine is baking cookies for our friends and neighbors.  I can’t cook very well, but for some reason I can bake cookies and it is one of my favorite things to do around the holiday.  I usually just buy some holiday paper plates and wrap the cookies with cellophane and ribbon but this year Flourishes is carrying these wonderful bags – perfect for decorating!

I started with the plain white bag – these are food safe so you don’t have to worry!  It has a clear window if you want your recipient to se the goodies – when you decorate the bag you can decide if you want to window to show, or cover it up.  They are available HERE at Flourishes.

blank-cookie-bag

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is your chance to use some of that holiday scrapbook paper that you have been hoarding for years! 

I took a piece of red scrapbook paper and used a Martha Stewart punch along the edge – I made two strips and glued them on the edge of each bag.  A piece of holiday paper was cut to the size of the bag and adhered on top. 

The Christmas Cookie stamp is from the Baking Ensemble, stamped in red and cut out with circle nestabilities, it was mounted on black  and then red scalloped circles – also cut with nestabilities.  A sheer red ribbon bow was attached to the stamped image.

For the bag on the left I wanted the window to show through, so I cut out a section of the holiday paper.  The frames were cut using a Slice machine (my latest favorite tool!).  The bag on the right takes the pieces that were left over from the Slice cuts and I used those pieces to pop up the stamped image.  So – no pieces wasted!

red-bag-with-opening

red-bag-no-opening

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used a little more elegant touch for this bag.  Again, holiday scrapbook paper from my stash was used – I love the design!  The same Martha Stewart punch was used for the edges.  My Slice machine was used to cut out the shapes and the sentiment  – from Flourishes Holiday Greetings – was stamped in green.  The small star is not available – it was in a draft stamp set and in the final version of the set it was replaced with another image.

Red grosgrain ribbon provides the pop of color.  You can’t tell from the photo but I used a stardust gel pen over the sentiment and the star to give a little sparkle.

green-cookie-bag

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Entry filed under: Flourishes Designs, Techniques.

Easy one-layer Christmas cards A Christmas Swap

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheryl Penner  |  December 18, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    These are awesome! I love how you’ve decorated them. Your recipients will LOVE them!

    Reply
  • 2. Jany  |  December 22, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Just on Saturday I went to the Flourishes store and saw those cute baggies. If I baked I’ll bought them for sure. Love what you did with them!

    BUT I went looking for a tape I saw a long time ago (I think it was good for masking as I saw in Julie’s blog (forgot to mention she’s my inspiration in the checkout thingy) and couldn’t find it.

    BUT I did find a cute thing! Some flowers Soft things that I don’t have an idea of what they do! And I was trully intrigued of how to use them and what to buy. Could you enlighten me?

    I wanted to let you know too that I changed my blog address and starting 2009 I will no longer use the blogger one. There is a link ther tho, so you can still know where I am. My new address is http://dianets7.wordpress.com

    Your SBS-5 sister-Jany

    Reply
  • 3. Hope  |  December 23, 2008 at 8:32 am

    great bags! I love how you decorated them up what a great little bag to get full of goodies.

    Reply
  • 4. Susan Daly  |  December 23, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Stopping by to say Merry Christmas

    Reply
  • 5. Lay Hoon  |  December 24, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    It’s really a good tradition to handmade some cookies !! I believe you can make good cookies !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


