That’s why they call it a “challenge”…

September 1, 2008 at 10:01 am 15 comments

This is my submission for the  Y.ou K.now Y.ou R.ock challenge, which is hosted by Julie Koerber and Deb Neerman, details here.  The challenges were created by these creative ladies who “ink with abandon and love it when their cards “rock”.    They often create with tunes pumped loud and thus, the creation of a site that is inspired by their rockin’ styles.” 

This months challenge was to create using metal – the more the better!  I was up to the challenge, even though I had nothing really ‘metal’ in my craft room  – I figured metallic card stock did not count!

On to the stores – JoAnn’s, Michael’s, Hobby Lobby – and the only thing I was able to find was copper wire mesh sheets and thin copper sheeting.   Having no idea of what I was going to create, I made my purchase and spent about a week just staring at these materials!

Has this ever happened to you?  You plan on participating in a challenge and try to work within those parameters but things just don’t seem to come together.  This happened several times to me while working on this project and I almost abandoned the whole thing.  Then I thought about it….it’s a “challenge”…..it’s supposed to push your creativity!  Since my personal goal this year was to step outside of my stamping comfort zone, this challenge was perfect since I had never worked with metal.    I would not give up!

Here is how I put this journal together:

I wrapped the copper mesh around chipboard – the mesh is somewhat pliable and cuts with scissors – and used a Bind-it-all to make the journal.  The instructions say this material can be sewn onto cloth fabric for “wearable art” but I can’t imagine wearing anything like this – it’s metal, can scratch and is a bit heavy!

I cut and embossed a piece of copper sheeting with rectangle nestabilities and tried stamping the birds and vine image on it but could not get it to work.  The image would never come out clear.  So I stamped the image on clear card stock and adhered it to the copper.   This image is from a soon to be released set from Flourishes.

The black panel is card stock stamped and embossed with copper embossing powder with images from Flourishes Wedding Essentials set.

“Journal” was computer generated on clear, attached to a piece of copper metal and mounted to black card stock.

With all the metal, I wanted to soften the piece by using velvet ribbon and velvet and silk flowers.

For those of you who use a cuttlebug with your nestabilities here is what I learned about cutting soft metal sheets.  If your “B” plates are scarred up like mine due to heavy use,  these “scarred” marks will show up on the metal sheet when you cut using nestabilities.  To eliminate this  put a thin piece of paper on on your B plate, then put your copper sheet and nestability die.  The thin paper is enough to prevent the marks  to show through on the metal.

I hope you will visit the Y.ou K.now Y.ou R.ock site and participate in future challenges!

Thanks for visiting!

Entry filed under: Challenges, Flourishes Designs, Tool and Product Talk.

Stepping out of my stamping comfort zone Blog Candy at Flourishes!

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janine  |  September 1, 2008 at 10:04 am

    I just love this Nancy!! Gorgeous!!

    Reply
  • 2. Deb Neerman  |  September 1, 2008 at 10:44 am

    WoWzA, Nancy, this is stunning! LOVE everything about your amazing Journal!

    So glad you had the chance to play in our challenge … and what a great entry!

    Y.K.Y.R.!!

    ~Hugs, Deb

    Reply
  • 3. Julie Koerber  |  September 1, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Oh my gosh Nancy was this worth the time and effort! It’s amazing! I love the copper and black combo!!! Stunning! YKYR!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Jany  |  September 1, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I love the look of this project. Don’t think it is metallic enough but it is beautiful!

    Reply
  • 5. Pat Adam  |  September 1, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Your journal is a real piece of art and I love it!I am a fan of copper and black combo so of course I’d love it. You did a beautiful job and I think
    you rock for taking on the project and having it come out so great. Pat

    Reply
  • 6. Marcie  |  September 1, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Awesome!! That is beautiful. Great job with the challenge.

    Reply
  • 7. Laura (scrapnextras)  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:14 am

    WOW!! This is amazing! I LOVE that image..it seems to be made for metal it just looks so right! I can’t wait till it’s released! Awesome journal!

    Reply
  • 8. Jan Marie 1flourish  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Yes, it was a challenge, but you were took it on and your creation is beautiful. OH an what a tease showing everyone a piece on the new set that Flourishes is releasing in a few days….they are going to LOVE it when they see the whole set!

    Reply
  • 9. Mary C. Anderson  |  September 2, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Your book came out gorgeous! The copper and black look so beautiful together. Just the right amount of metal. 🙂

    Mary

    Reply
  • 10. Joan B  |  September 3, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Your adventures with metal are interesting. I’ve never played with it and you are giving me ideas. LOVE that image from the soon to be released set!

    Reply
  • 11. Beth Norman  |  September 3, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    What an awesome card.

    Reply
  • 12. Juliann  |  September 3, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Oh Nancy this does ROCK!!!
    I just love it!

    Reply
  • 13. Cheryl Penner  |  September 9, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    This is just amazing! Absolutely beautiful!

    Reply
  • 14. Shirley  |  October 12, 2008 at 8:40 am

    What a beautiful piece of art. That is the reason Journals are kept forever!

    Reply
  • 15. Recent Links Tagged With "mesh" - JabberTags  |  December 13, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    […] on Mon 08-12-2008 Live Mesh Expands To More Countries Saved by jpirkle on Sun 30-11-2008 That’s why they call it a “challenge”… Saved by elrey1351 on Sat 22-11-2008 Dodge Caliber Stainless Mesh Grille Grill 07 08 Saved by […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


