JustRite, Mica Powder, and Bind-it-all!

August 21, 2008 at 2:48 pm 7 comments

Three things in one project – how is that for good planning!   My goal today was to combine my entry for the JustRite Stampin Champion contest (details here), with a project for a polished pigment mica powder tutorial that I am working.  Oh, and I bought a Bind-it-all about two months ago that I’ve never used, so it was time to put that machine to work!!

Let me say how much I love all three products.  All are easy to use and provide the papercrafter a wide range of creative possibilities.  First, I had to figure out how to use the Bind-it-all, as it was still in the box!  I watched the little video, checked out their website, and did a couple of test punches – all very easy!

Next, was to make the journal covers.  This process is pretty much foolproof –  it involves polished pigment powders, simple solution #2, watercolor paper, foam brushes, a spray bottle and LOTS of paper towels!  I’m working on a tutorial on how these covers were made, and other projects with the pigment powders, so you’ll have to stay tuned for those details!  I will say that the camera does not do the vibrant colors justice, nor does it show the pretty shimmery look the pigments provide.

Once the covers were assembled, the stamping took no time at all!  I stamped the flourishes, which are from the Wedding Essentials set from Flourishes on the cover and the words “Journal” and “2008”, which are from the new Brayton Font from Justrite  on leftover scraps from the journal covers.  Both are stamped with chocolate chip ink.

I hope you like this project, and when I finish the polished pigment tutorial, I will post a link to it!

Thanks for stopping by!

Entry filed under: Challenges, Flourishes Designs, Techniques, Tool and Product Talk.

Ambrosia Stepping out of my stamping comfort zone

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheryl Penner  |  August 21, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    This is absolutely STUNNING! Just beautiful!

    Reply
  • 2. Lois Bak  |  August 22, 2008 at 10:28 am

    This turned out really nice. the colors you used are so pretty. Hey, use that Bind-It-All. It’s so much fun. I just made a little baby book for a shower.

    Reply
  • 3. Jamie  |  August 22, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Wow, this is beautiful, love the blending of the colors 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Janine  |  August 24, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Oh this is soooooooooo pretty!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Jany  |  August 27, 2008 at 11:39 am

    What a beautiful journal! I LOVE the look of it!

    Reply
  • 6. Susan (rainy)  |  August 30, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    This is such a beautiful project, Nancy. And your tutorial was wonderful, too!

    Reply
  • 7. How to Get Six Pack Fast  |  April 15, 2009 at 11:12 am

    After reading this article, I just feel that I need more information on the topic. Can you share some resources ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


