Ambrosia

August 20, 2008 at 12:39 pm 5 comments

I received two of the new Basic Grey paper series and just had to open one up and play!  Since I did so well with the orange poppy card awhile back, I picked the Ambrosia paper and went to work.  Ambrosia is a pretty collection with orange, red and gold tones, with grey and black as the neutrals.  One of the prints is a butterfly pattern so I took my cue from that.

I cut out a circle with nestabilites and stamped all the images with Palette Charcoal.  The flowers are from Summer Blossoms and the Butterfly and sentiment are from Butterfly Moments.  To color, I wanted to closely match the orange/yellow tones of the paper, but with a shimmer, so I chose Twinkling H2O’s. 

First, I colored with Lemondrop, from the mini pots #1259 series, then I went over it with an orange color called Yellow Rose, from the mini pot #1251 series.   The butterfly was cut out and popped up.

Take a look at the close up to see the shimmery quality of the H2O’s.

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Entry filed under: Flourishes Designs, Tool and Product Talk.

Bikini Challenge… JustRite, Mica Powder, and Bind-it-all!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pat Adam  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Hi Nancy, Love these flowers, we call them austrameria ( not sure of the spelling) but they last in a vase for about 10 days. They come in every color imagineable. And they do come in the yellowish orange tones that you used. Very nice. I have H2O’s but have yet to open them and I’ve had them a couple years. Maybe you have inspired me. Have a great weekend. Pat

    Reply
  • 2. Sharon  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    You did good girl….the butterfly seems to be the perfect compliment to the summer flowers.

    Reply
  • 3. Juliann  |  August 21, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Absolutely STUNNING!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Leslie Miller  |  August 21, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Nancy, I love this! The colors are so nice for a change. I need to do more with this set because I loved it at first sight. Looking forward to these wonderful Ambrosia papers!

    Reply
  • 5. Lay Hoon  |  August 22, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    This is so beautiful ! Love the contrast colour of the background. And I love the colour of the butterfly !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


