Stepping out of my comfort zone

August 4, 2008 at 11:28 am 11 comments

You may wonder what this picture of this tiny stamp has to do with the title of my post.  Let me tell you a story…

I was cleaning up in my stamp room and came across a box of old “stuff” – you know the box that you throw stuff in until you decide what to do with it.  Inside this box was, among other things, this little stamp by All Night Media – a tiny wheel stamp. It’s importance to me?  It was the very first stamp I ever purchased and I can’t believe I kept it for over 10 years!  I was in craft store and thought it would be fun to roll the tiny Santa image over the envelopes of my store bought Christmas Cards.  Little did I know that shortly after I would find one of the best local stamp stores in southern California, Violet’s, sadly now closed. 

Violet’s took me to the wonderful world of stamping.  I took countless classes in those early years and I tried just about every technique, tool, paint, paper – whatever Violet’s brought on I was game!!  I took another look in the box and found projects, samples and instructions from many of those classes.  My mind instantly went back to those days where the stamping was almost secondary to the pure joy of learning and trying new things.  Creativity in its purest form.  Often the class would not concentrate on a finished product, but only on the technique and you were encouraged to bring back to the store whatever you made with that technique.   No matter how awful it turned out the ladies at Violet’s and fellow classmates would always make you feel like it was a masterpiece.

So, back to the present and I looked around my craft room at my recent cards.  They are all very nice and I would proudly send them to anyone.  Absolutely nothing wrong with any of them.

But…….they are safe.   Comfortable.   I realized I have been in a stamping comfort zone for some time.  You know what I am talking about!!  Like the favorite sweater (in your favorite color), you’ve moved into that comfort zone where you use a similar color palette, the same card design and similar stamp images.   Yes, what you have created is beautiful and it was fun, but is it preventing you from going to that next level? 

What was keeping me in the comfort zone?  Fear of making things that don’t look good?  No – I have plenty of those!!  Lack of time – well it takes me so long to do things, it would not take me any longer to try something new so that’s not it.  I have tons of paper, ink and tools, so lack of materials is not a problem and the internet is a treasure of tutorials if I want to learn or revisit a technique.

Today was the day I was going to step out of my comfort zone.    I decided I would take a few baby steps outside of the zone and see what would happen!

 

First I would make a card in a color that I never use.   Orange!!  It has to be orange because I don’t really care for the color, never really use it.  And it can’t be an accent color. It has to be the primary color.  I picked up the most orange card stock I had and started there.

 

Second…I want to do a card that is pure stamped and colored.  No embellishments, no ribbons or pearls, no glitter, no “stuff” to detract from the pure joy of stamping and coloring.   And it had to be a square card, not the normal sized card.

 

Finally…what image to use?  Florals!!  I admit that sometimes floral images are a bit intimidating because I think they are “hard” – and I am not always comfortable in how my coloring looks.  Well, outside of my comfort zone there is freedom – no more intimidation!!

 

The result??  Take a look!  I stamped…I colored…I masked…I used orange!  No embellishments…just fun stamping and coloring.   AND…I had a great time doing this card!  Now for some of you this may not look like much outside of the comfort zone, but the small steps taken with this card gave me an excitement that I have not had in awhile and for that I am grateful.

I used the Poppy Patch set from Flourishes for the main images – stamped in Palette Noir and colored in orange. The backgroud was stamped with a leaf image from the same set using versamark.

 

Now it’s your turn….Step out of your comfort zone and try something different – it may be as simple as doing a challenge with a color you never use, or trying a technique that you consider too difficult.  Or it may be something more elaborate like altering something.  Whatever you do, post a link here and show me what you did and why it was outside of your comfort zone. 

 

To give you a little incentive I will randomly select one post and send you this set of Twinkling H2O’s.  So check in next Monday and I will annouce my selection!  I look forward to seeing what you create!

 

 

 

Go create something!!

Entry filed under: Flourishes Designs, Tool and Product Talk.

Flower Soft Peony

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JanScholl  |  August 4, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    You need to step out of your comfort zone more often. I love this. I was scrolling thru my Reader and the card just popped off the screen. It is very pretty and I love orange (after red-my signature color). In fact, my kitchen is orange.

    Reply
  • 2. Susan Daly  |  August 4, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Very pretty card. Thank you for my stamp set and the beautiful card. I will be posting the card to my web site and can’t wait to play with my new stamp set.

    Reply
  • 3. Sharon in NE  |  August 5, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Oh my…no one would know this was out of your comfort zone. Very nice!

    Reply
  • 4. Lois Bak  |  August 5, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Doesn’t look outside of your comfort zone to me! Of course, I LOVE orange, so that would definitely have been comfortable for me. The Twinkling H2O’s on the other hand, are a bit outside my comforte zone. I have forced my self to use them after I spent all that money, so maybe they will one day be inside MY comfort zone.

    Reply
  • 5. alsmouse  |  August 5, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Congratulations on stepping out of your ‘comfort zone’. It is hard to do & that’s why I started the Color Challange Tags on Rubber Stamp Chat. I did it to get out of my color rut & I have grown with it. I enjoy the process of creating with a set color selection & seeing what comes out. I’ve tried colors (like your orange) that are not my favs & have learned there are ways to make that “new to you’ color make a statement. I love your card, orange or not, it is a super card.
    Keep on trying those colors, it is great for helping you consider new things. ~C8>

    Reply
  • 6. Juliann  |  August 5, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    sooo pretty!
    Orange is hard for me too, but your card turned out just beautiful!
    This stamp set is totally my new favorite set!
    I just love the poppies!

    Thanks again for the stamp set, that was very generous and I can’t wait to ink it up!
    Those h2o’s…is that what you used on the card that you sent me cuz it was so beautiful, and I have never used those.

    Thanks again!
    Have a good week!

    Reply
  • 7. Lay Hoon  |  August 6, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    It such a beautiful card !

    I have challenge myself to step out from the comfort zone too 🙂
    Kindly visit my blog for the Zentangles.

    Thanks again for the stamp set.

    Reply
  • 8. Cheryl Penner  |  August 7, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Love this card! So simple and yet so STUNNING!

    Reply
  • 9. Karen Steadman  |  August 9, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    I just did this on vacation; didn’t bring what I thought I had. So inchie stamps and the plain colored textured paper became note cards, layered on another textured cardstock, colored with copics and some spica glitter pens mounted on dimensionals or not, a sentiment or not. Simple but it let the stamps and coloring make the statement.

    Reply
  • 10. liannallama  |  September 22, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I haven’t made anything, but I adore your card! What a bold statement it makes and the orange looks fabulous!

    Reply
  • 11. sandrar  |  September 10, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


