Beautiful, easy backgrounds

June 24, 2008 at 5:36 pm 5 comments

Most stampers I know have at least some idea of what they want to create when they sit down at their craft table.  Today I wanted to use my Twinkling H2O’s and a silhouette stamp set, Spring Ephemerals.   The nature of this set,  solid images instead of detail or line images, meant that I could focus on creating a nice background and this is where the “twinks” come in. 

If you’ve never seen or used twinks, you are missing out!  These little pots of watercolor cakes are incredibly shimmery, come in dozens of colors, are semi transparent, non toxic archival safe and are about the easiest things to use.  If you can dip a paintbrush into water you can use these! 

The background for each card was created in the same manner, using different colors. I started with a piece of watercolor paper and wet it down.  Then I selected the colors I wanted to use and sprayed a little water in each of the pots to activate the color.  Starting with the lightest color, I loaded my brush up with color and just swished it on the paper.  I added the other colors in the same manner.  Once the color was on I then sprayed a little bit of water over the entire piece and let the colors blend and then set it aside to dry.

Shooting Star:  Papers used are rust, banana, and black.  The images on the base card are the leaves from the Bleeding Heart image from the same Spring Ephemerals set.  On the bottom portion I brushed on Twinkling H2O color on the image and then stamped it to the paper.  The Shooting Star was stamped with Palette Noir ink.  Twinkling H2O colors used are Sunflower from the 12 pot set #1251 and Dreamsicle and Deep Coral from the 12 pot set #1258.  The ribbon is black scallop satin.  The tiny rhinestones I found in my stash of “stuff” and I don’t know who the manufacturer is.  I wish the shimmery look of the twinks came out better on camera – it just does not do the colors justice.

 

 

 

Bleeding Heart:  Papers used are teal, burgundy (I think!) and black.  The Bleeding Heart image was stamped using Palette Noir.  The background image on the burgandy piece is the Forget Me Not image from the same stamp set.  Black scalloped ribbon was also used on this card on each side of the burgundy panel.  Twinkling H2O colors used are Navajo Pearl, Meridian Blue and Purple Sage, all from the 12 pot set #1262.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Flourishes Designs, Techniques, Tool and Product Talk.

Thank You Not so Ten Minute Tuesday!!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jany  |  June 25, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Need to tell you that most of the time I don’t have an idea of what I’ll be doing once I sit in my craft area. I just try to enjoy my time there and create on the go.

    Reply
  • 2. Hope  |  June 25, 2008 at 11:15 am

    beautiful cards! I love the colors.

    Reply
  • 3. Janine  |  June 26, 2008 at 7:08 am

    Gorgeous cards… I love H2Os… they are so much fun to use.

    Reply
  • 4. Julie Koerber  |  June 26, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Wow Nancy! That turquoise and purple card is stunning! Those are two of my favorite colors together!!! Have a good one!!

    Reply
  • 5. Cheryl Penner  |  June 27, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I LOVE these backgrounds! I’m gonna have to try them out as soon as we move again and I find the box with my twinkling H2O’s!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


