Where has the time gone!!???

February 6, 2008 at 3:06 pm 51 comments

I was just looking through my old blog posts and realize that TOMORROW is the one year anniversary of my BLOG!!!    I can’t believe it’s been a year already….so this calls for a CELEBRATION!!!  That means….BLOG CANDY!!!    Now, I have no idea what I will give away, but I promise it will be good! 

So to get this blog candy,  post a comment here about your general impression about blogs.  Are you backing off on reading them, do you have a few that you always go to?  Do you think some are annoying?????  Do you regret having started a blog and now feel the pressure to keep one up?  Are you obsessed with your blog hits!!

I’ll randomly select a winner on Saturday so check back and see it you’ve won!!

Entry filed under: NSR.

I won!! Winner of the blog candy is…

51 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenna Z  |  February 6, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I feel no stress from blogs….why would I let that get to me? I read them when I have time, I update mine when I have something to say. My only pet peeve is when people update theirs just for the sake of updating and don’t have anything to say. I use bloglines so reading them whenever I get a chance is perfect and I don’t miss anyone’s posts!

    Reply
  • 2. Jackie  |  February 6, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I need to back off reading them, I spend way too much time doing it, but I love it! I use Google Reader so I only check the ones that are updated and my pet peeve is all of the widgets and gadgets people put on their blogs! It takes forever for them to load, even with DSL and if it takes too long I won’t leave a comment. I have a blog and do feel some pressure to keep it updated but try to post something useful, even if it’s not a card.

    Reply
  • 3. Marcie  |  February 6, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    I have a blog that I update whenever I can. I do enjoy having it so I will probably keep it up.

    As for reading other blogs I use Google Reader and love it! YOU are on my reader list so I don’t miss whenever you post to your blog. I noticed recently that some of the blogs that I originally subscribed to don’t interest me as much and so I need to edit my blog list a little. Love how easy that is with Google Reader.

    I guess my only real pet peeve about blogs is if they have music. I love music but not on blogs.

    Congratulations on your one year anniversary!
    Marcie SBS-5

    Reply
  • 4. sandie994  |  February 6, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Since I started using google reader, things are better. Before, I hated it when I went to blogs and there weren’t any posts for a looong time. I don’t have a blog because I would probably be one of”those” bloggers.lol

    Reply
  • 5. MelissaS  |  February 6, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I’ll remain faithful to a blog that has regular posts of cards, sketches, tutorials. I have no patience for whining, although the occasional family story is acceptable, as it helps to get to know fellow bloggers. I also adore tips and tricks!! Thanks for sharing and congrats on your anniversary 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Sue B  |  February 7, 2008 at 2:12 am

    I use Google Reader as well. I have over 50 blogs on my Reader. I agree with Jackie about blogs that take a long time to load (we are on dialup here). I have my favorite blogs – whenever an update pops up I read it immediately. I enjoy having my blog. I don’t have a counter on my blog – I did at one time but it became too much of a focus for me – kind of like a popularity contest – so I removed it. I do have an ID/statistics counter which is fun. It allows me to see where visits to my blog originate. I post when I can and sometimes I can be too wordy so I’m working on making my writing brief. I learn new things every day from reading the blogs. You are on my Reader, Nancy. I really enjoy your artwork and your writings.

    Reply
  • 7. Janine  |  February 7, 2008 at 7:47 am

    I love my blog. And I love alot of other blogs out there that deal with papercrafting and stamping. I have no time for lengthy stories. As one stamper above me said, the occasional story is ok but give me tutorials, tips, tricks of the trade.. That I love.
    And I know that having my own blog forces me to create at least once a day and that I like.

    Reply
  • 8. Carolen  |  February 7, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    I subscribe to a number of blogs! And I consider them the highlight of my day (next to creating) even though I don’t think that any have actually influenced my work, exept for the occassional technique. I love physically holding on to magazines too, but it seems increasingly hard to find good stamping/card-making magazines.

    Blogs are amazing! And, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to make yours available to us. I really appreciate it!

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly W  |  February 7, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    When I first started to realize what blogs were I admit that I was certainly obsessed. Now I am no longer obsessed and I am enjoy the inspiration shared. There are many talented ladies out there. Thanks for sharing your inspiration.
    Kelly
    ksun_1999@yahoo.com

    Reply
  • 10. Susan Daly  |  February 7, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Hi there,
    I used to look at alot of blogs regularly but have started to cut down to only a few. If a site is on my blog roll then I look at it regularly because I feel that is part of my responsiblity. I have to admit a usually just look at the pictures and rarely read blogs.

    Reply
  • 11. JenMarie  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I’ve recently started a blog, so far really enjoying it. I go thru phases where I spend tons of time reading blogs and sometimes not. I mainly look to see pictures and tutorials.

    Reply
  • 12. mary Puskar  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I have a long list I read every day and I add others and delete some too. I like frequent posts. Even if I like a bloggers work, if they don’t post frequently I drop them from my list but I might add them back at a later date. Count me in on your blogaversary candy!
    Mary Puskar

    Reply
  • 13. Anita  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    I LOVE to read blogs. I check many daily. I find that I spend almost every evening participating in a challenge, or two, or three! And yes, I am totally obsessed with my blog hits (I just checked and I have 1819 since 1/19/08). I have quit checking a couple because I found they were too annoying and really didn’t focus on scrapping, etc.

    http://www.wowprincess.com/anita/

    Reply
  • 14. Annelies  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I really like reading blogs. I have about 15 blogs in a special map that I check (almost) every day. Then I have different maps (Dutch scrappers, cardmaking, manufacturers, etc.) I read these when I have time for it, mostly in the weekends.
    Althoug I like reading blogs, I think I’m not such a good blogger myself.

    Reply
  • 15. Linda Peterson  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I absolutely love all of the blogs I look at daily. I have learned so much from them and appreciate the effort.

    Reply
  • 16. NancyS (momsnack)  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I enjoy reading blogs for the ideas, tutorials, techniques, tips, etc., but I don’t want to see two dozen pictures of the family vacation, a long detailed saga about a stubbed toe,or a long, detailed list of every item purchased.
    I get excited when I purchase some new tool or a great stamp set, but I don’t need to know some one bought a “pink grosgrain spool of thread”.
    One thing that will cause me to delete a blog from my reader is if the text is a very pale color and difficult to read or the text is very small. Enough said!
    NancyS (momsnack)

    Reply
  • 17. jennibell  |  February 7, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    I don’t have a blog but enjoy reading other people’s blogs! I have my “favorites” then others that I find, usually through links (like this one). It is a great way to get to know other people, but very one-sided I guess.

    Reply
  • 18. Cindy Vernon  |  February 7, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I read blogs everyday and still love them. I mostly stick to craft blogs and I still get tons of wonderful ideas from them.

    Reply
  • 19. Cathy  |  February 7, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I should back off reading blogs. It seems I spend more time looking and surfin then I get to play anymore. But of course I will continue surfin, cuz I just love seeing all the creative projects out in blogland.
    Thanks for a chance
    cmeyers@hughes.net

    Reply
  • 20. Claudia F.  |  February 7, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I love checking blogs that are updated frequently, kept clean and fresh looking, have photos and are easy to navigate. I HATE music on blogs.
    Claudia
    scfranson@charter.net

    Reply
  • 21. Juanita  |  February 7, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I was at a big lull in my stamping. I have been haunting blogs over the last few weeks and it has really helped me come up with all sorts of ‘jumping off points’. I love blogs, I check my favs every day!

    Reply
  • 22. susan wood  |  February 7, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    I love to read the blogs…which I recently stumbled onto a few months ago….I was looking for cuttlebug cards and WOW!! I’ve been impressed.!

    Reply
  • 23. Diane S  |  February 7, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I like reading blogs. Lots of stamping ideas and fun information.

    Reply
  • 24. Jacquie  |  February 7, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I have a list of blogs that I visit for inspiration when I’m stuck on something or just to take a break from things at work, somedays they keep from going nuts at work.

    Reply
  • 25. Cindy Coffman  |  February 7, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I love reading and checking out blogs….lots of ideas and inspiration from these blogs!! Thanks for the chance!! :o)

    Cindy Coffman
    cac1957@hotmail.com

    Reply
  • 26. cheryl  |  February 7, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I enjoy browsing through my fav every morning while having my coffee. I love seeing the new techniques and ideas. there are so many creative souls out there that I would not get to meet otherwise. Happy Blog Anniversary!

    Reply
  • 27. Cheryl Kelly-Van Domelen  |  February 7, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I am so addicted to blogs. I never thought I could be…until I got sucked in!! I love the information I learn, projects I see, and people I meet. I have a few favorites but I’m always visiting new ones too. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 28. Swedie  |  February 7, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    I enjoy reading the blogs and seeing the amazing amount of creativity people have. I always think they won’t be able to come up with any new ideas, but they always do.

    Reply
  • 29. Kerry  |  February 7, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Congratulations on one year of blogging! I don’t have a blog myself, but I do have a list of favorites that I peruse on a daily basis. Depending on how much time I have, I’ll either just scan quickly and look at pics or sit back and read.

    Kerry Morgan

    Reply
  • 30. Darlene L  |  February 7, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Well I have had to scale back on the blogs I read–I can spend several hours a day reading them. I like the connection I get with the writer of the blog and that many people not only share their art work but their heart too. I have described myself as blog addicted–but have not started one of my own. Darlene

    Reply
  • 31. MollyK. Barry  |  February 7, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    I’ve been reading quite a few and I’m beginning to get a little pickier about the ones I go to…..I really dislike the ones with huge headers that take up a lot of space on the screen and take a long time to load (& I have DSL!)….the ones I check in on regularly appeal to me because of the projects (love those mini-lessons on Video! with demos and words printed across the screens are best—maybe there’s a way to slow-motion them but I haven’t discovered it yet….as a newbie, I need all the help I can get! MollyK.

    Reply
  • 32. Nettystamps  |  February 7, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    I love reading the blogs for inspiration…and I haven’t read a blog yet I found annoying…and there are some blogs that I happen upon that I not only read the most current entry but I will go back through the older posts!!! Kind of like a good book you just can’t put down! LOL Thank you for the chance at what I am sure will be some very NICE candy! Happy blogversary to you! 🙂

    Reply
  • 33. Gail (Abi)  |  February 7, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    I have subscribed to quite a few blogs and have weeded out a few, but generally I love them for inspiration! I’ve learned a lot of things from reading blogs, but I do have to admit, I don’t read the personal notes, just the ones about crafting. Congratulations on your anniversary!!

    Reply
  • 34. Jill Gardner  |  February 7, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    I have a major blog addiction and I spend way too much time but I have no intentions of stopping, LOL! I don’t really like the music thing, especially when I’m surfing at night when the family is asleep and all of a sudden my computer starts blaring! Congrats on your anniversary!

    Reply
  • 35. Mary Ellen Ryan  |  February 7, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I am new to visiting blogs snd you caqn easily get caught up in following links forever! I’m learning to set a time limit and get back to stamping!

    Reply
  • 36. Heather Fullerton  |  February 7, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    I just love reading blogs. So many different ideas and thoughts can be seen. Love the whole thing. Keep up the great work.
    Heather from Atlantic Canada

    Reply
  • 37. Gretchen Rowe  |  February 7, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    I really love blogs! I have been looking at them pretty much every day. I love blogging myself and really enjoy updating my blog b/c it keeps me creative! The best thing about blogs is the connection you get with people all over the world who share a passion for the same thing you do. What could be better than meeting new people and seeing artwork to inspire you at the click of a mouse?

    Reply
  • 38. Brenda H.  |  February 7, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Happy Blogaversary to you!! I admire all those who make the time & effort to update a blog! I love blogs…free access to ideas, inspiration & amazing creativity! My only problem is – so many blogs…so little time! Thanks for this chance to win sweet surprise candy!
    ~Brenda H.

    Reply
  • 39. twinks  |  February 8, 2008 at 12:11 am

    I enjoy blog too much; have been thinking of cutting down somewhat so I can ‘focus’ on my own stamping. No blog here. But I so enjoy seeing and reading what others are doing and creating. 😀

    Your blog is fed to me by email and I quicly no which one it is because there is always “no subject”. I don’t think it was intentional – but I love finding it this way. ;D

    Congrats on your anniversary and TFS!

    Reply
  • 40. Elaine  |  February 8, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Blogs. I love em. Don’t have enough time to read all of them, and often miss out on some great ideas until it is too late. I would love to think that I’m organized enough to come back to that blog next year, to make the project, but that isn’t the case. I’m not obsessed by hits at all, and don’t feel pressure to post – in other words, I’m a lazy blogger! 😉 Congrats and happy Blogiversary!
    Elaine
    eyp963@msn.com

    Reply
  • 41. Jayne  |  February 8, 2008 at 4:25 am

    For the most part, I enjoy blogs. However, I find myself more and more just looking at the pictures. That’s probably because my time is limited and there are so many that I love. The only thing that I think is annoying is music on a blog. I usually have my own music going, so their music doesn’t come through well. Thanks for sharing your talent.

    Reply
  • 42. Tammy  |  February 8, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Love blogs! I get a sneek peek into someone else’s life, exploring the world from my desk is beyond my wildest dreams…ie: photos-a picture is worth a thousand words-flickr rocks!; youth-Elsie Flannigan is such a young superstar; chickie named steubner on SCS-sooo funny; tutorials-Tim Holtz’s new blog is fabulous. None are annoying, as I have the freedom to click away. Don’t have time to do my own, but appreciate people like you taking the time to do yours and will be back! Blog candy inspires me!

    Reply
  • 43. bluemoon  |  February 8, 2008 at 6:34 am

    Congratulations on your blog Anniversary! My main problem is that I have subscribed to so many wonderful blogs, that if I miss a day or 2, oh man, there are too many to catch up on. Other than that, I am a late finder of blogs last fall, and I luvvv seeing all the wonderful creations, reading stories, etc. But, you can’t read everything every day. So whatever catches my eyes gets looked at, but I do enjoy just about all of it. I started a blog, just so I could leave messages, but I can’t get my new printer to scan, so there are no new pics, and I’m not sure what to write about???, I’m not technical, oh help! and I don’t have alot to write about, life is quite uneventful…but would love to figure it all out. I admire all the work you all put into your blogs. You all rock! Thanks! bluemoonbynite@yahoo.com

    Reply
  • 44. Doris  |  February 8, 2008 at 8:29 am

    I have just started following people’s blogs and am finding so much inspiration and so many ideas. We seem to have a set style in the regular SU classes that I take, so it’s wonderful to see what other people do with similar stamps.

    Reply
  • 45. Angel  |  February 8, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Funny you should ask that. I am feeling convicted about the amount of time I spend on blogs so I am backing off actually. Weaning myself.
    I love blogs though…. so it’ll be hard!

    Reply
  • 46. Susan Liles (susiestampalot)  |  February 8, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    I LOVE having my blog, and it does not stress me out at all! i don’t post everyday, but if i wait too long, i have people emailing me asking what happened to me! it’s fun! i am not obsessed with hits. i know i have a readership and as long as it’s there, i’m ok. what i don’t care for on some blogs is the music, i always turn it off. can’t read and take in the inspiration with it on! i have several that are my daily ritual that i read while drinking my morning coffee! it’s equivalent to hubby’s newspaper reading every morning! right?

    Reply
  • 47. lindass  |  February 8, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    I have a list of favorite blogs a mile long that I visit as often as possible. I enjoy them so much that I don’t spend half as much time creating anymore, as I do blog surfing. So I probably should cut back, but I’m having too much fun so it’s hard to do. Thankfully I don’t have children at home anymore…I would have felt really guilty if my blogging time would have cut into the time I had to spend with my family:)

    Reply
  • 48. Alison  |  February 8, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I enjoy blogging as many friends, family get to see my latests projects. I do have several favorites that I visit often and try to post as often as I can for fun not obligation. It’s proven a great way to “meet” new people around the world and gain tons of inspiration. I find it useful to teach new things and have discovered many new things from blogging.

    Reply
  • 49. Diane  |  February 8, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Oh my goodness, I’m addicted to blogs. I just love reading them and seeing all the creativity. I do feel guilty sometimes spending so much time checking them out.

    Reply
  • 50. Jan Scholl  |  February 9, 2008 at 12:50 am

    I read over 800 blogs so I guess its an addiction but I like ones that are either all art or on a certain subject (food, politics, music) When it gets too off subject or is bashing one person over and over (an art blog should not veer off to Hillary bashing and forget the art) I just hit delete. Its easy to have more than one blog, so I dump most of the other stuff on my other blog.

    Reply
  • 51. Velta  |  February 13, 2008 at 5:02 am

    My Goodness Nancy you have quite the following here. You probably won’t even get to read this cause it will take you a good 30 minutes to read the 50 comments above me…Glad this isn’t a contest! I am going to have to get these stamps from your wonderful store!!! You can do just about anything with them…Perfect Choice Flourishes!! Oh, LOL…and I love the card and bon-bon box 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


