Curling up with a good magazine – no more?

February 3, 2008 at 12:28 pm 7 comments

I love curling up on my reading chair with a good book or magazine.  I’m a reader at heart -probably influenced by my dad, who was a teacher and loved books.  I have several places in my house where I go when I want to sit and read.  There’s the “reading corner” in the main room, the big easy chair in the front room (a spare bedroom we converted into a little sitting area), the back patio – a nice little screened in patio that looks out into the wooded area behind our house and finally my big soaking tub!! 

So when I came across this link to an online magazine (e-zine)

http://sheetload.blogspot.com/

I quickly dismissed it because I could not hold it in my hands and sit in a comfy chair to read it.   (note – I am in no way affiliated with this site).  I revisited the site which is free and has a good premise.  It shows a sketch, how to cut a few sheets of paper and make a bunch of cards from it.  Something like a “one sheet wonder”  idea.

Then I started thinking.  The Rubber Stamper magazine is no longer in print and is this the start of the demise of printed magazines?  As more and more of us use the Internet (and not just the “younger generation”) will online “e-zines” be the new  “print” media?

Certainly online e-zines are easier on the environment and have the potential to reach a much wider audience, but there is nothing like flipping through a magazine, or seeing your card in print.   Even sitting on my sofa with my laptop, well it’s just not as comfortable and I can’t bring my laptop into my large bathtub!  However, I see this will most likely be the way print media will transition and wonder how magazines like Somerset Studios, RubberStamp Madness, etc will shift more to an electronic format.

Let me know your thoughts on this – are paper magazines just cluttering your life and you prefer electronic media, or do you prefer paper.

Entry filed under: Tool and Product Talk.

Cake Decorating Contest at Flourishes I won!!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie  |  February 3, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Thanks for the link, I will check it out. I will always prefer paper but there just don’t seem to be any good stamping magazines anymore. What I find on blogs and SCS is far superior to anything in print, in my opinion. I miss being able to curl up in my chair with some coffee and just browse the magazines.

    Reply
  • 2. Marcie  |  February 3, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Hi Nancy,
    I love printed reading material! I can not imagine just reading online – it is not the same. I think I have books and/or magazines in just about every room of my house! Actually I was thinking about doing a scrapbook page about how many books I have! Thanks for the interesting article.
    Marcie SBS-5

    Reply
  • 3. Sharon in NE  |  February 4, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Good link. I’m afraid, even though I am the same generation as you, I prefer to do everything online: newspaper, magazines, read books, pay bills, etc. I’ll probably have nasty carpal tunnel someday, but having everything at my finger tips and being able to save pics or docs onto jump drives w/o papers to sort through saves me a ton of time. I would love the new reader Amazon has ($500!) in which you can get books and subscriptions automatically on this small reader…but I don’t seeing mags ever going away completely. What would everybody look at in drs offices? TFS!

    Reply
  • 4. Julie Koerber  |  February 4, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Hi Nancy!
    I am with you. There is nothing like grabbing a cup of coffee in the afternoon, sitting on the couch with a cozy blanket and flipping through the latest stamping mag. I miss Rubber Stamper hugely. I was a reader for 8 years. I certainly HOPE that electronic isn’t the wave of the future!

    Reply
  • 5. twinks  |  February 5, 2008 at 12:49 am

    I’m in the older generation – will always love the paper copies I keep in my favorite stash. Our home is filled with all of our favorites and we’re learning how to let go or share. 😀

    Reply
  • 6. Kat  |  February 6, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Hey Nan,
    I’m with you about loving to read of course and there’s nothing like a good solid book. I think the younger generation is still loving books though. Look at the Harry Potter phenomenon. When there’s that big a hit in an electronic book then you’ll know the end is here.

    One field that’s going more and more on line is science journals. If the reference I want is not on line then I just don’t need it badly enough to make the trip to the library. Magazines and newspapers may just go that way too.

    Kat

    Reply
  • 7. Juliann  |  February 8, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Yeah I love a printed magazine as well.
    I read enough blogs on the computer that I just love to be able to sit in my comfy chair and flip through a well written and illustrated magazine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


