How many drafts do you go through?

January 13, 2008 at 5:25 pm 11 comments

mardi-gras-mask-400.jpgI had the image and look of the card in my head.  Lots of layers, color and glitter, after all this was to be a Mardi Gras Card!  My usual process is to roughly draft out the cards. stamp samples of the images and place them where I want them to be.   I worked through so many versions of this card – layer after layer, stamp and cut out the mask or not?  Angle or straight on?  I’d get something I’d like and end up with a big smudge on the front.  SO…after all that I decided a no layer card!! Stamp and emboss the image on the card front and add the bling.  OK, so I did end up with a small smudge on the front – but I was not going to re-do this card!!

I stamped and embossed the outer portion of the mask, the feathers and stem in gold, then went back and stamped the eyes and nose in black.  With clear stamps this was soooo easy to do – I placed it perfectly on the first try.  I colored the mask in radiant pearls – evergreen and amethyst – in real life you can see the glitter of these paints.  The streamers were done in the same colors, then I went over them in glitter glue to add more sparkle and dimension.   A glitter gel pen was used to add the little dots of glitter around the feathers and the top of the mask.    “Carnavale” was stamped with a Marvy marker – violet. 

And yes, those are real Mardi Gras beads thrown from a Mardi Gras float – but it was a family friendly parade so there was no “flashing” on my part!

After all the “issues” with that card, I decided to go easy on myself and start simple with this next card.

Jan Marie gave Sharon D. and I a beautiful crystal in the shape of a diamond.  This stamping-queen.jpgbaby is huge – it must be a million carats and is heavy!!  Well, I saw this and the various crowns in the Mardi Gras set and decided I would crown myself Stamping Queen of my house!!  OK, I’m the only stamper in the house but I can still call myself the queen!  The crown was embossed in gold and mounted on eggplant.  Purple rhinestones were placed on the corners.  “Stamping Queen” was computer generated.

Entry filed under: Flourishes Designs.

Of King Cake, Moon Pies and Beads……. Flourishes is now an SCS Member Company

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracy Durcan  |  January 13, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    These are absolutely gorgeous!!! I love love love the mask and the stamping queen sentiment is fabulous. They were definitely worth it!

    Reply
  • 2. Sharon (notimetostamp)  |  January 13, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    These are lovely and fun!!! I love the colors you used (yes, I know — the traditional — I deviated!!!)and I love all the glitz and sparkle!!! I think the simple cards are just perfect for these lovely images. Job well done on both counts!!! TFS!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Hope  |  January 14, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Great Job! The embossing works perfectly!

    Reply
  • 4. Dee  |  January 14, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Wow the colors on your mask are beautiful!! Did you paint it or are those inks? I love the stamping queen font and that gorgeous gold crown. This is a really fun set.
    Dee

    Reply
  • 5. Janine  |  January 14, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Great cards !!

    Reply
  • 6. Mary C. Anderson  |  January 14, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    Both of your cards are very pretty. I love the one layer look. 🙂

    mary

    Reply
  • 7. Leslie Miller  |  January 14, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Well, after all that, this turned out great, Nancy! The all white background sets it off beautifully. I like your Stamping Queen crown, too. There can be many different uses for these sets!

    Reply
  • 8. Julie Koerber  |  January 15, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Love the cards Nancy! I am a glitter girl though–the more bling the better! Thanks for sharing — that is such a fun set!

    Reply
  • 9. Meg  |  January 17, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Love that stamping queen-Good luck with your new company- great looking stamps!

    Reply
  • 10. Jamie  |  January 17, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Great Mardi Gras cards. Don’t you just love Radiant Pearls, they are so vibrant 🙂

    SBS-5 Sister

    Reply
  • 11. Kanani  |  January 18, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Love the Stamping Queen Card!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


