How to make a large heart into a small heart

January 8, 2008 at 7:34 pm 6 comments

lace-heart-nk-2.jpgI just love the large heart in the Lace Heart set, however I was working on a card that called for a smaller heart and I really wanted the “lace heart” look.   A while back I sold many of my smaller heart stamps so I used the large lace heart and very easily made a small one.   Here is my finished card and how I did it.  The card uses vanilla and rose red paper and rose red ink with a little chocolate ink for depth.  The ribbon is a cream satin scallop from May Arts.  Both hearts were cut with cuttlebug die cuts. 

small-heart-close-up-2.jpgFirst, I cut a smaller heart using a cuttlebug die and vanilla card stock.  Then I inked up a portion of the larger lace heart – can you see on the bottom where the point of the large heart is?  It is a perfect section and fits this die cut just right.  Because the stamps are clear it is so very easy to place this on your die cut!!  It worked on the first time (amazing for me!!).  I sponged some rose red on it as well for a little more definition. 

small-heart-close-up-1.jpgBoth the heart and sentiment (“How do I love thee  Let me count the ways” ) are in the Lace Heart set from Flourishes. 

Entry filed under: Flourishes Designs, Techniques.

More Blog Candy!! Of King Cake, Moon Pies and Beads…….

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kanani  |  January 8, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Pretty Card! Great tip for cutting a smaller heart.

    Reply
  • 2. Janine  |  January 9, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    This is very striking. Love the flourishes.

    Reply
  • 3. Dee  |  January 10, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    very creative! This is beautiful!

    Reply
  • 4. Julie Koerber  |  January 11, 2008 at 9:33 am

    LOVELY card! It is so elegant! TFS!

    Reply
  • 5. Hope  |  January 13, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    very pretty!

    Reply
  • 6. Susan Daly  |  February 2, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Very pretty card!! I love how the large heart has several smaller hearts in it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


