Do you cut apart your stamps?

December 17, 2007 at 1:59 pm 7 comments

floral_original.jpgThe first time I heard about people cutting apart their stamps I was amazed!!  Why would anyone want to cut apart an image…then it happened to me!  I was using a stamp from Flourishes Fantasy Floral Garden and there are two little pieces on the stamp that I usually did not want to show.  I thought about cutting them off and after much thought I realized I would like the image better with the little sections off.  So….out came the xacto knife and ….very carefully…I cut off the two small pieces.  Some tips….think about this for awhile before you make your cut because you can’t go back!  floral_cut.jpgAlso – use a new blade in your knife and go slowly.  I found that this polymer was sturdier than expected…hopefully a sign of quality materials.  I also used a magnifying glass to get a better look – in this case you don’t want to cut the stems off too much or two little – just take your time.

Once that was done and I felt more confident I tried another, harder image.  The cake slice from Flourishes Cake Decorating set was always a difficult one for me to stamp.  Since I usually stamp with pads, not markers, it was difficult to get two different colors on this one stamp.  So – I carefully cut between the “frosting” edge and the “cake” edge.  This one cut_cake.jpgwas more difficult because the space between the two is very tight – I cut very slowly and carefully and was able to get two stamps that I can use on ink pads!

 Let me know if you have ever cut apart a stamp and how you did it.

Entry filed under: Flourishes Designs, Techniques.

Sisterhood of the blogging sisters Nestabilities and Cuttlebug

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Juliann  |  December 17, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    Usually I cut my stamps apart if there is words attached with an image. Makes it so much easier. If the stamps are wood mounted I mount the image on one side and the words along the side. I love the idea of cutting that little cake though, easier then coloring the stamp with markers!

    Reply
  • 2. Cheryl  |  December 17, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    You’re braver than I am! I don’t have the heart to cut mine apart!

    Reply
  • 3. Charlotte  |  December 18, 2007 at 7:00 am

    Great idea! TFS!

    {oxo} Charlotte (SBS-5)

    Reply
  • 4. sharon in ne  |  December 18, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    no…but you empowered me.

    Reply
  • 5. Sandy Fleming  |  December 18, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    I have been cutting stamps apart for years. I use all my stamps unmounted on acrylic blocks. If I am careful I can use the cut apart image individually or just slide the parts back together on my acrylic block and use it how originally intended.

    Reply
  • 6. Marcie  |  December 19, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Yes, I cut my stamps apart. Stampin’ UP! has a Stamp set with 3 blocks of words and I cut them apart and mounted them on the narrow side of dominos. I did not create this idea but I certainly do love it. Thanks for sharing your technique.
    Marcie
    http://www.keeperofthescrapbook.com

    Reply
  • 7. Lay Hoon  |  December 19, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Hi, it’s such a great idea to do so.
    Thanks for sharing with us !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


