Down to the wire

December 9, 2007 at 7:47 pm 9 comments

My shopping is done, presents are wrapped, packages are mailed and just about all of my Christmas Cards are done!  This card is a total case of one I saw at a convention over the summer.  The stamp is from the Artful Stamper and I fell in love with this image and the way it was colored.  Here is how I put together the card.

cutoutpanel.jpgI stamped the image in Palette Noir on grey cardstock, used Prisma pencils to go over the tree limbs and give them more weight.  Then, carefully, I cut out the inside rectangle, leaving the tree in the foreground.  I am not the best when it comes to using an xacto knife – so this part took me quite awhile to complete!  Twinkling H2O’s were used for the red ornaments and holly, a white signo pen for the dots on the tree limbs. 

I stamped the image againwatercoloredsection.jpg on watercolor paper and embossed in clear powder – allowing me to do a little watercoloring while protecting the actual detail.  The sky was watercolored with Zia Colorwash sprays.  The trees, stars and snow were colored with Twinkling H2O’s.

 Then I placed the watercolored image behind the grey panel, matching up the image borders.  I mounted the entire panel on blue metallic paper, then on white cardstock.finallxmascard.jpg

Entry filed under: Techniques.

A little Thanks Flourishes releases three new sets!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. afillo  |  December 9, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    This is amazing…great job!

    Reply
  • 2. Tera  |  December 9, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    I love this card!!! I wish I was done with Xmas cards – almost though – 4 to go…
    Tera

    Reply
  • 3. Juliann  |  December 9, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    This is so pretty!!! Thanks you for sharing it and for the little tutorial! BTW I am in your SBS5 group! Take care!

    Reply
  • 4. Lindsay  |  December 10, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Great cards!!

    BTW I am in your SBS 5! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Marcie  |  December 11, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    Nancy,

    I love your blog heading! I am part of your SBS-5. I live in the Central West Coast area of Florida.

    Your blog is amazing. I have already added you to my favorites!

    Looking forward to getting to know you,
    Marcie

    Reply
  • 6. Jan Marie (flourishes)  |  December 13, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    Oh so nice in pictures but I got the real thing today from Nancy and it is AWESOME!

    Reply
  • 7. Leslie Miller  |  December 14, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Wow! This is amazing! Wonderful work and so beautiful and twinkly!

    Reply
  • 8. Cheryl  |  December 15, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Great tutorial. This card is really beautiful!

    Reply
  • 9. Jennifer Taylor (JenMarie)  |  December 16, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Totally beautiful! Thanks for the tutorial!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


