My stamp room

November 26, 2007 at 6:18 pm 4 comments

I’ve been working on cleaning up my stamp area and now that it is somewhat clean, I thought I would post the photos and show you where I work.  Full disclosure:  my stamp area never looks this clean and tidy!!

The room measures about 12 x 10 and serves several purposes at our house.  First, it is my stamp/craft room, but also is our home office where the main computer, printer, scanner and fax are located.  All of our personal papers and files are kept here. 

 Finally, it is our storage area for those items like holiday decorations and other things where we have no other space.   There are good things and not so good things about the room.  First – the good things!!

 It is a ROOM!!  My previous stamp area consisted of my kitchen table.  When I wanted to stamp I had to get my supplies from the closet, bring them to the table and either finish the project, or leave it on the table (not very practical).  The fact that I have a room set aside for crafting is wonderful.

Next, it is the only room on the second floor, so I can keep unfinished projects out and not have to worry about how neat things look when people come over.  Being on the second floor also means it is away from the other rooms and is a little quieter.

 Now for the not so good.

 While the room is large, it is basically the attic space over the garage built into a room.  The walls go straight up to four feet then angle in with the roof line.  This means no real wall space – which is a big thing if you do any type of craft!! 

Because it is over the garage it is very uncomfortable in the summer. We have two A/C vents and two fans, but that is not enough.  We had to buy another internal A/C unit that is very noisy, but cools the room a bit.  Even in the winter the room never gets cold. 

It has a very small closet which I tend to cram  with anything that will fit!

Even with these drawbacks, it is a great place to work and I feel very fortunate to have the room.  Now for the photos!

stamproom001.jpg This is my primary workspace.  I have most of the inks and markers on the shelf with prisma pencils on the table.  Also on the shelf in plastic boxes are my Flourishes stamps – I use them so much I need them close by.  The rolling cart next to the chair contains tools I use most often – scissors, adhesives, etc.  The light brown cart with narrow drawers and white binders on top contain the bulk of my stamps.  Most of my holiday stamps I keep in the closet, since I only use them once a year.  The binders most of my unmounted stamps.

Next is my computer desk.  On the left just next to the white binders, you may be able to stamproom004.jpgmake out some narrow rattan type baskets.  These contain the remainder of my unmounted stamps.  To the right of the desk is a two drawer lateral file cabinet containing our household files.  On top are the printer, copier and scanner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This area is the one most prone to “messiness”.  This is a second work surface that contains the fax machine, Cuttlebug, papercutter, scorer and embossing tools and stamproom005.jpgsupplies. It also holds other tools used less often. Below the table is computer and office supplies. The shelf above contains 2 xyron machines, pencil sharpener and embossing powders.  The plastic rolling carts on the right contain most of my other supplies – more adhesive, inks, cutting tools, etc.

 Lastly is the paper zone.  I keep 8 1/2 x 11 paper in literature cases (bought at an office stamproom006.jpgsupply store) and sorted by general color category (yellow, red, etc).  My 12 x 12 is kept both on top of this (primarily full/unopened pads) as well as on top of the small white bookcase on the right.  The bookcase holds only about a third of magazine and book.  The rest are kept in the closet. 

Entry filed under: NSR.

On Vacation Rubber Stamp Chat

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cindy  |  November 26, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    I am a little slow…I left my comment on the wrong blog note…ugh…

    Great work space…I am almost inspired to clean mine up to photogragh it…

    Reply
  • 2. Sue  |  November 27, 2007 at 4:45 am

    Looks like a wonderful area for your work.

    Reply
  • 3. Mary C. Anderson  |  November 28, 2007 at 1:29 am

    You have a wonderful room to create in.

    Mary

    Reply
  • 4. Lay Hoon  |  December 9, 2007 at 3:11 am

    Your scraproom is so tidy .
    Love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rubber Stamp Chat – a new online rubber stamp community!


